Grupo Prodeco

The Prodeco Group comprises the following companies that are Glencore subsidiaries:


  • CI Prodeco SA, which owns the Calenturitas mine and the coal railway operation

  • Carbones de la Jagua SA, Consorcio Minero Unido SA and Carbones El Tesoro SA, which together own the La Jagua mine

  • Sociedad Portuaria Puerto Nuevo SA, which owns the Puerto Nuevo coal export port



On February 4, 2021, the companies C.I. Prodeco S.A., Carbones de La Jagua S.A. and Consorcio Minero Unido S.A., holders of the mining contracts for the operation of the Calenturitas and La Jagua mines, filed their relinquishment of said contracts before the National Mining Agency (ANM).  

Through a decision dated September 3, 2021, the ANM accepted the relinquishment, thus terminating the operations of the Prodeco Group in the Calenturitas and La Jagua mines in Cesar, and initiating the process of liquidation and reversion of the mining infrastructure, which must be handed over in operational condition to the mining authority. 

During this transition and closure stage, the Calenturitas and La Jagua mines will remain in a state of care and maintenance until the formal process derived from the resignation of the mining contracts is completed. 

In relation to the continuity of the railroad and port operations that are part of the infrastructure denominated 'coal chain', the Prodeco Group will maintain its 39.7% shareholding in the concession of Ferrocarriles del Norte de Colombia - Fenoco, and will continue to comply with the port concession contract in Sociedad Portuaria Puerto Nuevo S.A., maintaining the public service infrastructure, to serve new users with requirements for mobilization of coal cargo for export through Puerto Nuevo. 

For further information about Puerto Nuevo, visit

Our presence


Prodeco Group’s estimated contribution during the years of production

~200 Mt

Production of coal

~2.5 USD Bn

Royalties and taxes

~3.1 USD Bn

Capital investment

~27 USD M

Social investment

~6.6 USD Bn

Local purchases